Resolutions

This is the place where I’m supposed to write out all the things I promise to do better in 2016 than I did in 2015. You know…

  • Work out more
  • Be more charitable
  • Eat healthier

…etc. But I don’t need to bore you with the same resolutions you see in every Instagram post this time of year.

I’m choosing to look at 2016 as an opportunity to simply keep improving myself and my life in as many ways as possible. Don’t get me wrong; I have a checklist of sorts in my head. I have plenty of specific things I want to accomplish.

But they are no different from what I spent the last half of 2015 working on. I’ve made steady progress in a lot of areas and I’m not ramping it up or making extreme changes because I have to date my invoices with at “6” instead of a “5.”

One of the biggest changes I could have ever made for myself was boarding that first plane to Australia last March. We’re well past that, but I feel the positive effects of that decision every day. That choice, and every corresponding move in every new country, have helped make me a more curious, knowledgeable, well-rounded individual.

It feels like seeds that were planted on my trip are just starting to sprout, but it’s enough to keep me motivated to continue branching out and growing my world. I’ve started doing more volunteering when an opportunity arises, I’ve increased the frequency and quality of my writing, and I’ve embraced more chances to learn about myself as a person and the world at large.

They are baby steps, but it feels good to be making progress. All I can ask of myself is to continue aggressively pursuing my passions, deepening personal relationships (both new and old), and jumping at every chance to learn something new. I can continue to do what makes me happy, price be damned.

And most essentially, I can remember that wasting the potential of any day is a big deal. We’re exceptionally lucky to be living our lives in such an interesting, beautiful world and because of that, I don’t think any day should be taken for granted.

My favorite phrase, inspired by my favorite poem, is “pursue the horizon.” With that in mind, the one official resolution I’ve made is to get a glimpse of every sunrise and sunset of 2016. It’s a simple, mushy goal, but my preferred reminder of the world’s endless beauty comes twice a day when the sun hits the earth, explodes like a smoothie from a topless blender, and paints the sky.

Plus, it’s my opinion that sunrises and sunsets are like snowflakes in that no two are exactly alike. That means there are 732 chances in 2016 to start or end the day chasing something I think is worth my time and attention. It’s 732 chances to be simply, blissfully happy. And it’s 732 chances to enjoy the beauty of the world and remember how thankful I am to be a part of it.

Here’s to a life-changing 2015 and another chance to get better in 2016 – I hope you pursue, find and enjoy your horizon too.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: Be a Baby Goat

Leave a Reply

